Look Lively

Last week I spoke about role models, and how important it is to draw inspiration from them.  I get a lot of mine from Melissa Benoist, her performances as Supergirl and what she does when off screen, standing up for what she believes; are two very powerful acts.  Most of the time I can’t separate Supergirl as a character.

Most of my inspiration however comes from Blake Lively.  Amazingly talented, her performance in The Age Of Adaline was perfection, and the movie still remains as my favorite cinematic experience to this day, I don’t expect another movie to take it’s place for a long time.
Blake is also incredibly beautiful, kind-hearted, and her relationship with Ryan Reynolds is something every girl wants, not just because it’s Ryan Reynolds, it’s more romantic than that, if you’ve seen the speech he gave when he received a star on Hollywood Boulevard; you’ll know exactly what I mean.

I’ve been a fan of Blake Lively since I first saw her on screen in, The Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants, and of course everyone knows her from Gossip Girl, which I was completely obsessed with, (and have been binge-watching on Netflix).

Aspects from her personality and her character Adaline are things I try to model in myself, aspects like; gracefulness, compassion, and a subtle wit I don’t let these traits cloud my knowledge of self, rather enhance it.
Aspiring to be as well carried and as beautiful as Blake Lively, what are her food and fitness secrets?

1. She doesn’t deprive herself of something sweet
In 2014, she told French Vogue, “I can’t start the day without a hot chocolate, or finish it without a few squares of dark chocolate. It’s good for my mood!”
It’s actually been proven that dark chocolate, (the good 70%+ cocoa stuff), in moderation is beneficial to your health, it’s a great source of soluble fiber, it’s loaded with minerals, a
ntioxidants and can help lower blood pressure.
Blake isn’t shy about her love of food and mentioned she can often be found baking baking, her husband Ryan, has coined the kitchen, “The Blakery”.

2. She credits her youth and metabolism
She’s aware of how lucky she is to be able to stay in such great shape, and that her age and “good metabolism” were responsible. “I could lie and put it down to dog walking, but you would be well within your rights to call my bluff: my dog weighs three pounds. I take six steps and she’s done for. In a few more years, I’ll need to have a new secret, as in an incredibly strict diet regime.”

3. She stepped it up after her pregnancy
Blake is far more relaxed about her diet than many other Hollywood stars, but did have to make some changes after having her first child.  Stepping up her exercise regime considerably to be able to slip into a bikini for a film role just months after giving birth. Increasing her workouts from once or twice to five or six times a week and eating four small meals a day; made up of, “a protein, a vegetable and a slow-burning carb”.

4. Being healthy comes before weight loss
Blake has criticized the pressure new mothers feel to get back their pre-baby body.
“There’s pressure to lose it, or women are supposed to look like they did when they were 19 right after you give birth to your child, I think it’s silly”… “Losing weight is not something I have spent much time focusing on. With a new baby, it’s just about eating well for her, because everything I eat goes right into her system. Your body goes through a lot after pregnancy and birth, so small, gentle workouts feel better.”

5. She keeps her workouts fun and her food fresh
“I hate the gym. Who doesn’t? When I’m in the gym I feel like I am missing out. So I would rather rent a bike or go for a hike”.  When cooking Blake like to use “a lot of fresh ingredients, which really does make a huge difference”.

Leave a Reply

