Words That Changed Me

I’m part of that dying breed of people that still read books on the subway, adolescent millennials with Beats draped around their neck and covered in whatever lifestyle brand is the current trend, stare into the harsh light of their cell-phones looking unfulfilled with the thousands of updates that bombard them everyday.

Which is why I’m a book lover, there’s nothing more immersive than just you, a book and your imagination.  Picturing what the characters look like, feeling every emotion along with them, and getting completely lost in another world.

We all have impulse buys, candy bars showing off all their colors at the checkout in the store or a gorgeous pair of heels we see in a shop window – my impulse buys are books, I don’t think I’ve ever walked passed a book store, I always enter with contained excitement; waiting for my next other-worldly fix, (of course I’m guilty of the other two as well).

The relentless stream of media is something I can quite easily turn off; availing myself of any opportunity to open a book, in front of a crackling fire with a glass of Malbec, or two, has to be my favorite.

I’m a huge fan of work by John Green, author of ‘The Fault In Our Stars’, one of the most talked about movie adaptations for its intense and tragic love story.
I can’t think of another author that has had the ability to alter my reality as much as John Green, his stories are always relatable, full of raw emotion, and bewildering adolescent discovery.

9780141357034
Relatable stories are so much more interesting to me, because you feel so much more involved than with the plot of a Si-Fi book, (and I’m a sucker for romance).

If that’s something you look for in a story, then you might want to add these to your reading list…

‘All The Bright Places’ – Jennifer Niven
‘Me and Earl and the Dying Girl’ – Jesse Andrews
‘Beautiful Broken Things’ – Sara Barnard
‘The Sky Is Everywhere’ – Jandy Nelson

… The most recent addition to my collection, is quite possibly the most powerful, emotional and relevant book I’ve ever read, and has truly changed my life forever.

I’ve never seen a book on this topic before, I’ve never experienced someone speaking so openly about something that is sadly considered a joke, suppressed, brutalized and drives people into hiding.

‘If I Was Your Girl’ follows the depression, elation, and life changing events of Amanda, the new girl at school, like everyone she just wants to make friends and fit in, but she’s holding back out of fear, even from the guy she’s falling in love with.

At her old school, she used to be called; Andrew, and secrets always have a way of getting out.

I’m gripped by every word, feeling every nervous heartbeat as I turn the page hoping everything’s okay.
If you know someone going though a transition or if you’re going through one yourself, books like this are essential in understanding and coping with the stress, and you can take comfort in the fact that the author, Meredith Russo was inspired to write this based on true events in her life.

Leave a Reply

